skip to Main Content

Welcome to IUCEA

Vision:  IUCEA becomes an exemplary common higher education area for a prosperous and sustainable East African Community by 2030.

Mission: To encourage and develop mutually beneficial collaboration between Member Universities and between them and Governments and other organizations, both public and private

IUCEA Core Values:  Accountability, Transparency, Unity, Diversity, Integrity, Professionalism and Teamwork

IUCEA executive members visiting IUCEA premise
The governance structure comprises of the Council of Ministers at the EAC level and the IUCEA Secretariat at Institutional level.

The Ministries responsible for Higher Education and all universities in the Partner States form another group of key stakeholders of IUCEA. The National Commissions and Councils for Higher Education in the Partner States are collaborating institutions, through which IUCEA carries out some of its functions, and also channels implementation and enforcement in Partner States of Sectoral Council and Council decisions related to higher education.

IUCEA is structurally linked to the following organs of EAC as the major stakeholders: the EAC Secretariat; the Sectoral Council on Education, Science and Technology, Culture and Sports; the Council of Ministers; East African Legislative Assembly; and the Summit of Heads of State.

The Summit of the Heads of State and Government of Partner States gives overarching directions and provides impetus to the development and achievement of the objectives of the Community.

In accordance with Article 14 of the Treaty, the Council of Ministers shall be the policy organ of the Community – for the general implementation of the Community’s programs, projects and activities. The Council sets the policy directions for the implementation of sectoral projects and programmes.  In accordance with Articles 66 and 71 of the Treaty, the Secretariat is the Executive Organ of the Community. The East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) is established under Article 9 of the Treaty, as the legislative Organ of the Community and enacts laws and approves the budget for IUCEA alongside those of the other EAC organs and institutions.

In accordance with IUCEA Act 2009, IUCEA Secretariat governance structure is composed of:

  • The IUCEA Annual Meeting comprises of universities, university colleges, other Degree Awarding Institutions, and currently stands at 133 members universities; and From all Partner States; Ministry in charge of Education, Commissions/Councils form Science & Technology, Commissions/Councils for Higher Education and the East African Business Council representing the private sector).
  • The Executive Committee and its sub-committees. The current standing committees are:
    • Scholarship Students and Staff Mobility Committee
    • Planning, Finance, and Human Resources Committee
    • Quality Assurance Committee
    • Common Higher Education Area Committee
    • Audit Committee

Back To Top