skip to Main Content

Welcome to IUCEA

Vision:  IUCEA becomes an exemplary common higher education area for a prosperous and sustainable East African Community by 2030.

Mission: To encourage and develop mutually beneficial collaboration between Member Universities and between them and Governments and other organizations, both public and private

IUCEA Core Values:  Accountability, Transparency, Unity, Diversity, Integrity, Professionalism and Teamwork

IUCEA executive members visiting IUCEA premise

Call for Submission of Programmes for EAC Regional Programme Accreditation

1.  Background

The Inter-University Council for East Africa is an inter-governmental organization of the East African Community (EAC) enacted by the IUCEA Act 2009. Its mandate is to coordinate higher education in the Community and to advise the EAC Partner States on all matters relating to higher education.  In dispensing its mandate, its core focus revolves around three areas: quality of higher education, research, networking, and collaboration between member universities and beyond.

To achieve this, IUCEA is required to establish a regional harmonized higher education system and facilitate the maintenance of internationally comparable education standards in East Africa so as to promote the region’s competitiveness in higher education.

Over the past years, IUCEA in partnership with the national councils and commissions for higher education has facilitated the development of a functional Regional Qualify Assurance System for East Africa. IUCEA has also facilitated the development of an East African Qualifications Framework for Higher Education (EAQFHE), which is a generic instrument for anchoring national qualifications frameworks for the purpose of harmonization and synchronization of education and training systems and for comparing the qualifications attained in the EAC.

Cognizant of its mandate and considering the above-mentioned developments in the higher education system, IUCEA has now embarked on a process of regional accreditation of programme to help in the harmonization of quality and promote mobility of students, staff and skills. Prior to a programme being submitted, it should have been accredited by the National Commission/Council or any other accrediting body using prescribed quality assurance standards and guidelines. The regional accreditation of programmes comes with many benefits including access to potential development partners funding and ensuring ease of comparability, transfer of credits and ultimately student mobility and recognition of qualifications.

To guide the accreditation process, IUCEA has developed Standards, Guidelines, Procedures, Processes, norms and assessment tools which were approved by its Governing Board, the Executive Committee.  

IUCEA is pleased to invite Universities and other higher education institutions to submit programmes from the cluster discipline areas listed below for Accreditation. The programmes shall be subjected to a rigorous review and assessment of facilities and staffing as part of the accreditation process.

Discipline (Cluster Area)

  1. Agriculture: (Crop & Animal Production/ Forestry/ Horticulture/ Agri-business, Animal Health, Agro-Processing, Floriculture/Fisheries and Aquaculture/Soil Science/ Land use and Management)
  2. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  3. Health Sciences (Medicine, Public Health, Nursing, Laboratory Sciences, Imaging)
  4. Animal Health (Animal production, Tropical Animal Health, Epidemiology, Molecular Biology, One Health, One Health Analytical Epidemiology, Vet Anatomy, Vet Physiology)
  5. Data Science (Statistics, Actuarial Science, Biostatistics, Econometrics, Population & Demography)
  6. ICT (Computer Sciences, Information Sciences, Information Systems, Computer Engineering, Software Engineering)
  7. Engineering (Water Engineering, Civil, Electrical, Process, Chemical, Renewable Energy, Telecommunications Engineering)
  8. Science Education (Subjects: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, ICT, Physical Education, Sport Sciences, Professional Education disciplines)

B.  Requirements 

  1. Type of programmes: Submit only Academic /professional Programmes that lead to an award of a qualification.
  2. Accreditation Requirement: Programmes should have been duly accredited by Commissions and Councils for Higher Education or recognized national accreditation bodies in the respective EAC Partner State or other countries in which the Institution is found.
  3. Fees:
    • Payment of requisite initial non-refundable fees of USD 1,000 (for institutions within the EAC region) and USD 2,500 (for institutions from outside the EAC region) for administrative and technical review of the programme prior to facility verifications/inspection.
    • Programmes that meet the requirement at the review stage shall progress to facility verification/inspection. The institution shall be required to pay a subsidised fee of USD 5,790.
    • Payments should be made to:
      • Name of Bank: Citibank Uganda Limited, Ternan Avenue, Kampala
      • Account Name: The Inter-university Council for East Africa
      • Account Number: 0100206013
      • Swift Code: CITIUGKA
    • NB: Travel costs for assessors (Air ticket and ground travel) based on market rates shall be met directly by the applying University/Institution

C. Submission of Programmes Process 

 Please submit your application form and all the required attachments to: and copy to Institutions submitting programmes are advised to study the standards, Guidelines and procedures for programme accreditation as well as the norms and tools for programme assessment.

All documents are accessible through this link:

Note: Please note that Programmes may be submitted at any time in the year. It is expected that the 1st Cohort of programmes received shall be accredited by December 2023. 


Back To Top